Accrington Cricket Club

Accrington v Rishton
Sunday May 15th 2022

JW Lees Lancashire League
  Score Score
Accrington 164 Rishton 141
Scorecard Table
Accrington (12pts) beat Rishton (5pts) by 23 runs


Accy celebrate
Accrington celebrate the wicket of Rishton skipper Matt Leathert
©Nigel Stockley

Accrington won a hard fought local derby against Rishton at The Property Shop Arena by 23 runs to win for the third league match running. The home side fell from 100-2 to 164 all out with Luke Eddleston taking 4-15 for Rishton. Stuart Crabtree top scored with 50, including seven fours, Kian Farnworth hit a career best 22 against his former club, Rick Williams an unbeaten career best 21, Toby Bulcock 19 and Ben Gorton 16. Crabtree and Gorton had put on 37 when Gorton was bowled by Shaun Hutchinson for 16. Bulcock helped Crabtree take the score to 71 when he was caught by Eddleston off Hutchinson for 19. Crabtree was bowled by Danny Briggs for 50 at 100. Professional Jacob Clarke was caught by Richie Fox off Eddleston for 6 without addition to the total. Four runs later Jon Hayhurst was caught by Anjula off Eddleston for 1. Skipper Graeme Sneddon (4) was bowled by Briggs at 113 and Eddleston dismissed Connor Tattersall (4) at the same score. Williams and Farnworth then put on 44 for the 8th wicket before Farnworth was run out for 22. Two runs later Riley Armstrong was trapped in front by Sammi Senapathi without scoring. Last man Nathan Mashiter (1) was caught by Anjula off Eddleston leaving Williams unbeaten on 21 when the innings closed on 164 in the 43rd over. Clarke (2-35) and Bulcock (4-42) soon had Rishton in trouble on 12-2 after sending back Brad Juliff (2) and Saj Patel (3) but Fox and sub professional Kavishka Anjula put on 44 before Fox was trapped in front by Clarke for 31. Ash Patel was bowled by Tattersall for 15 at 84 and skipper Matt Leathert was stumped by Gorton off Bulcock at 98. Bulcock picked up the vital wicket of Anjula (45) at 111 when Tattersall held the catch. Eddleston was cleaned up by Bulcock without scoring next ball. Farnworth then picked up Chris Sanderson (4) at 129 and Danny Briggs (2) at 141 with Tattersall running out last man Senapathi without scoring at 141 leaving Shaun Hutchinson unbeaten on 22.