Accrington Cricket Club

Accrington v Nelson
Sunday July 2nd 2023

JW Lees Lancashire League
  Score Score
Accrington 191-8 Nelson 195-2
Scorecard Table
Nelson (10pts) beat Accrington (0pts) by 8 wickets


Accrington 2023
Accrington 2023
©Nigel Stockley

Usman Tariq hit an unbeaten 79 to lead Nelson to an 8 wicket win at Accrington. A 7th wicket stand of 64 between skipper Graeme Sneddon (25) and Jimmy Hayhurst (46 not out) helped Accrington recover from 105-6 to post 191-8. Openers professional Jacob Clarke and Ben Gorton put on 79 before Gorton was caught by Nelson skipper Khurram Nazir off Raja Shahzaib for 37. Ali Hasham (9) was bowled by Shahzaib at 95 and Clarke gave a return catch to his opposite number Tariq for 44 at 100. Kian Farnworth was caught by Ashar Imdad off Shahzaib without scoring at the same total. Two runs later George Mills (1) was trapped in front by Shahzaib who then claimed a career best fifth wicket when Yousuf Ali (2) was caught behind by Michael Bradley at 105. Sneddon and Hayhurst then put on 64 before the Accrington skipper fell to Chris Brooker-Carey. Nazir picked up Mohammed Tayyib (4) at 185 with Siraj Hussain unbeaten on 1 at the close. Shahzaib finished with 5-30 from 13 overs. Nelson made a rapid start in reply with Imdad (30 from 28 balls) and Tariq adding 73 before the amateur fell to Tayyib. Matt Pettinger (32) put on 55 for the 2nd wicket with Tariq before falling to Matt Taylor. Tariq ploughed on hitting ten fours in his unbeaten 79 to pass 500 runs for the season, adding an unbroken 67 for the 3rd wicket with Lewis Bradley (25 not out) to see Nelson to a second successive win in the 32nd over. Nelson move off the bottom of the table to be replaced by Rishton.