Accrington Cricket Club

Accrington v Nelson
Saturday July 3rd 2021

JW Lees Lancashire League
  Score Score
Accrington 36-0 Nelson 35
Scorecard Table
Accrington (12pts) beat Nelson (0pts) by 10 wickets


35 all out
35 all out
©Nigel Stockley

Accrington bowled Nelson out for a season's low of 35 to win the re-arranged game at the Property Shop Arena by 10 wickets. Toby Bulcock took 3-6 from 7.1 overs, professional Lasith Lakshan picked up 2-4, Tom Walker 2-7 and Jimmy Hayhurst 2-10. Rain delayed the start and when play began the match was reduced to 37 overs a-side. It didn't take Accrington long to make inroads after winning the toss. Walker had professional Usman Tariq caught behind by Matt Wilson without scoring with the score on 3. One run later Neil Thompson was bowled by Walker without scoring. Matthew Pettinger was caught by Stuart Crabtree off Hayhurst also without scoring at 6. Khurrum Nazir became the fourth player to depart without troubling the scorers when he edged Hayhurst to Wilson without addition. Skipper Lewis Bradley and Chris Gildea added 14 before Bradley was run out for 7. Jack Bradley was caught by Bulcock off Lakshan without scoring at 22. One run later Sardar Asghar was caught by Hayhurst off Lakshan also without scoring. Veteran Michael Bradley stuck around for 19 balls in making 3 before holing out to Connor Tattersall at mid on to give Bulcock his first wicket at 32. Elliot Bradley was caught behind by Wilson without addition to notch up the seventh duck of the innings. Bulcock claimed the final wicket when he had Gildea caught behind by Wilson for 11 from 61 balls. Chris Brooker-Carey finished unbeaten on 0 meaning eight Nelson players had failed to score. Fourteen of the 35 runs were extras when the innings ended after 28.1 overs. Stuart Crabtree hit six fours in finishing unbeaten on 31 with Jon Hayhurst unbeaten on 5 when maximum points were secured in the 10th over. Nelson's score was the lowest against Accrington since Ramsbottom were bowled out for 27 in 1970.