Accrington Cricket Club

Bacup v Accrington
Saturday August 14th 2021

JW Lees Lancashire League
  Score Score
Bacup 67-2 Accrington 66
Bacup (12pts) beat Accrington (0pts) by 8 wickets


Accrington 1st XI 2021
Accrington 1st XI 2021
©Nigel Stockley

Ten man Accrington slumped to a seventh successive defeat beaten by 8 wickets at Bacup after being bowled out for 66. Bacup professional Sachithra Serasinghe took 6-11 from 11 overs, Ben Lord picked up 2-17 and Finlay Testa 1-34 to bowl Accrington out for a season's low 66 in the 23rd over. Wicketkeeper Chris Gansler also claimed four victims. Both openers were out stumped by Gansler off Serasinghe with Jon Hayhurst falling for a nineteen ball duck at 13 and professional Lasith Lakshan failing again for 5. Testa had Tom Walker caught by Aaron Fielding without scoring with Andy Greenwood making 4 when Matt Thompson took the catch off Serasinghe at 31. Toby Bulcock hit 19 before being trapped in front by Serasinghe at 44. Four runs later skipper Graeme Sneddon was clean bowled by Serasinghe without scoring. Lord had Riley Armstrong caught behind by Gansler for 1 at 53. Jimmy Hayhurst picked up the fourth duck of the innings when he became Serasinghe's sixth victim. Matt Wilson was the last man to go caught Gansler bowled Lord for 20. It took Bacup 13.1 overs to wrap up the points with skipper Simon Newbitt hitting an unbeaten 26 after Bulcock had trapped Mark Goddard in front without scoring and Lakshan had Serasinghe caught by Jimmy Hayhurst for 22. Thompson was unbeaten on 10 when maximum points were secured.