Accrington Cricket Club

Ramsbottom v Accrington
Sunday September 5th 2010

Thwaites Original Lancashire League
Sunday 5th September      




Scorecard   Table  

Well done lads
Accrington applaud the new champions Ramsbottom off the field
©Nigel Stockley

Ramsbottom have won the Lancashire League title for the first time since 1992. Jon Fielding's men secured the title with a fifteenth successive league victory by beating outgoing champions Accrington by 139 runs at Acre Bottom. Needing just 9 points to wrap up the title they took all 12 with a comprehensive victory, bowling Accrington out for 101 after earlier making 240-5. A 3rd wicket stand of 161 between professional Alex Doolan and David Bell set up the victory after David Ormerod had removed openers Alex Bell (2) and Andy Holt (28). Doolan made 97 from 112 balls with four fours and a six and David Bell made a career best 90 from 124 balls with six fours, passing 500 runs for the season during his innings. Accrington skipper Ormerod bowled through the innings, picking up all 5 wickets, including his 50th of the season, at a cost of 107 runs. Michael Haslam removed Simon Hanson (2) at 5, Matt Wilson (20) at 58 and Stuart Crabtree (0) at 60. He also picked up the vital wicket of Accrington professional Will Driver for 37 at 63. Skipper Fielding then got in on the act, removing Matt Schofield for 4. He then took 3 wickets in 4 balls, sending back Mitch Taylor (4), Jimmy Hayhurst and Paul Carroll to put the issue beyond doubt. Jack Walmsley came on to clean up the tail sending back Ormerod (3) and last man Damian Clarke (9) to spark jubilant celebrations amongst the players and the crowd. Andy Greenwood was again impressive for Accrington, making an unbeaten 14 from number five.