Accrington Cricket Club

Accrington v Nelson
Saturday May 1st 2010

Thwaites Original Lancashire League
Saturday 1st May      




Nelson (12pts) beat Accrington (0pts) by 7 wickets on faster scoring rate (Target: 131 from 35 overs)

Acc attack
Accrington on the attack
©Nigel Stockley
Nelson's dominance over Accrington at Thorneyholme Road continued with the visitors coming away with a 7 wicket win. Accrington, who haven't won in this fixture since 2004, were bowled out for 180 with professional Will Driver top scoring with his third successive half century in as many innings. Driver made 56 from 96 with seven fours, adding 59 for the 4th wicket with Graham Lloyd (30) after sub professional Gary Brent had claimed the first three wickets - James Ormerod (18), Simon Hanson (15) and Stuart Crabtree (0). Only Graeme Sneddon (16) of the lower order made double figures as the last 4 wickets fell for the addition of just 12 runs with Brent picking up 7-66 from 23.1 overs. Rain then reduced Nelson's target to 131 from 35 overs. Chris Heap fell to Jimmy Hayhurst without scoring, but fellow opener Stuart Lemon saw Nelson to victory with an unbeaten 64 that contained six fours and a six. David Crotty also made 20 in a 2nd wicket stand of 57, and Brent 25 from a 3rd wicket partnership of 41 as Accrington lost for the third time this season.