Accrington Cricket Club

Bacup v Accrington
Sunday May 9th 2010

Thwaites Original Lancashire League
Sunday 9th May      




Scorecard   Table  
Accrington (10pts) beat Bacup (0pts) by 6 wickets

Accrington's Senior Squad 2010
Accrington Senior Squad 2010
©Nigel Stockley
A six wicket spell by Damian Clarke and an unbeaten 60 by Matt Wilson enabled champions Accrington to taste victory for only the second time this season as they beat Bacup at Lanehead. The home side piled up 236-8 with professional Michael Smith hitting an unbeaten 89 from 93 balls with five fours and four sixes. Paul Gallagher also hit 71 from 92 balls with six fours and a six and Anthony Taylor's share of a 69 run opening stand with Gallagher was 30. With 6-39, veteran slow left armer Clarke was on course for a career best but 20 runs off his last over kept that one safe in the record books for the time being. Accrington replied well with James Ormerod (13) and Simon Hanson (38) putting on 45. Graham Lloyd then hit 45 from 49 balls with four fours and a six before finally being run out after adding 51 for the 3rd wicket with professional Will Driver. Enter Matt wilson who took the match by the scruff of the neck to slam an unbeaten 60 from just 40 balls with six fours and three sixes to wrap up the game by 6 wickets for the visitors. Driver finished unbeaten on 46 (five fours from 66 balls) as he added an unbroken 83 with Wilson.