Accrington Cricket Club

Accrington v Bacup
Saturday July 24th 2010

Thwaites Original Lancashire League
Saturday 24th July      




Scorecard   Table  

Accy 2010
Accrington CC 2010
©Nigel Stockley
Accrington's feeble batting line up crumbled again this time at the hands of the league's weakest bowling side, Bacup, who had failed to take any bowling bonus points prior to the game at Thorneyholme Road. A fine spell by David Warren reduced the home side to 48-8. At this point the medium pacer had figures of 6-14. He finished with 6-30 with Henry Butcher chipping in with 2-2. A 4th wicket stand of 30 between Matt Schofield (14) and Stuart Crabtree (10) held the Bacup attack at bay for a while but once Warren had removed both players wickets again tumbled at an alarming rate. The innings was rescued by Jimmy Hayhurst and skipper David Ormerod who put on 75 for the 9th wicket to help Accrington to 128 all out. Hayhurst made a fighting 46 from 60 balls with seven fours whilst the skipper made 23, his highest score for his current club, made against his former club. Bryn Hargreaves took 3-38 on his first spell in senior cricket, but Bacup professional Michael Smith played the match winning hand of 52, including six fours, to see his side to their reduced target of 102 with 6 wickets and more than 10 overs to spare.