Accrington Cricket Club

Accrington v Todmorden
Saturday April 25th 2009

Todmorden lifted the Colne Trophy for the first time with a 3 wicket win over double winners Accrington at Thorneyholme Road. A 5th wicket stand of 99 between Graham Lloyd (96) and last minute stand in as sub professional Neil Holmes (41) helped Accrington amass 232 all out after their first four wickets had fallen for 69. Lloyd hit nine fours and five sixes from 93 balls with former Accrington and Enfield all rounder Holmes hitting four boundaries in his first match for 18 months. Matt Wilson had earlier hit 31 with Steve Barker picking up 4-29 and James Morgan 3-41 for Todmorden. The visitors lost Ben Sutcliffe (6) at 13 but Simon Newbitt and sub professional Daryn Smit (17) took the score to 81 before the South African fell to Paul Carroll after scoring all his runs in singles. Newbitt went on to hit a match winning 93 from 101 balls with eleven fours and two sixes. Alistair Harrison was unbeaten on 46 with good support from Nick Barker (27) and skipper Jon Henderson who both fell to Accrington's most successful bowler Jimmy Hayhurst (3-43).