Accrington Cricket Club

Nelson v Accrington
Sunday August 16th 2009

Thwaites Original Lancashire League
Sunday August 16th Score Score
Nelson 172-9 Accrington 175-4
Scorecard Table
Accrington (10pts) beat Nelson (0pts) by 6 wickets

Accrington 1st XI 2009
Accrington 1sts 2009
©Nigel Stockley
League champions Accrington beat Nelson for the first time in three seasons to keep their slender hopes of retaining the title alive. Skipper David Ormerod took 4-50, including his 50th wicket of the season, but he was unable to complete his 22nd over due to injury as Nelson made 172-9 after being put in to bat. Damian Clarke also took 2-17 and Jimmy Hayhurst 2-33 but a dropped catch off Clarke in the last over of the innings cost Accrington 2 vital points. Thomas Lord top scored with 48, hitting five fours and a six, batting with a runner after being hit on the leg by a return throw during his innings. David Crotty made 26, Stuart Lemon an unbeaten 23 and opener Chris Heap a painstaking 17 from 74 balls with just one boundary. Accrington opener James Ormerod was also in watchful mode, making a senior best 35 from 85 balls, also including one boundary. He added 29 with Matt Wilson (22) for the 1st wicket. Graham Lloyd upped the tempo with 35 from 29 balls with six fours, adding 46 with the opener, and then Stuart Crabtree finished the job with an unbeaten 58. The left hander hit four fours and two sixes, adding 86 with Ormerod. Robin Peterson said farewell for the season with the wicket of Roy Silva (4) but Accrington got home by 6 wickets to move to within 18 points of Haslingden who have played one game less.