Accrington Cricket Club

Accrington v Nelson
Sunday August 2nd 2009

Thwaites Original Lancashire League
Sunday August 2nd Score Score
Accrington 113 Nelson 117-2
Scorecard Table
Nelson (12pts) beat Accrington (0pts) by 8 wickets

Roy is out
Roy Silva's nightmare continues when he departs in the first over
©Nigel Stockley
Nelson moved to within a point of Accrington after handing the champions an 8 wicket spanking at Thorneyholme Road. Nelson professional Robin Peterson picked up his seventh five wicket haul in eight innings to dismiss Accrington for 113. Graham Lloyd defied a recurring calf injury to top score with 31, which included six boundaries. Professional Roy Silva's woes continued when he was caught at slip by Nelson skipper Khurram Nazir off the third ball of the match after dispatching Sam Halstead's initial full toss to the boundary. Halstead (2-16) then removed Stuart Crabtree after Richard Meade had sent back Matt Wilson without scoring. Lloyd and Graeme Sneddon (15) took the score from 12-3 to 49 when Peterson picked up his first wicket, that of the left handed Sneddon. Simon Hanson (1) soon followed and then Peterson clean bowled Lloyd. James Ormerod made an unbeaten 19, adding 35for the 8th wicket with Jimmy Hayhurst (12) before Meade (3-24) returned to polish off the tail. Jimmy Hayhurst (2-22) removed Neil Thompson (17) and David Crotty (5) but Will Lawton hit a career best unbeaten 48 and Peterson an unbeaten 31 with half a dozen boundaries to ease Nelson to a comfortable victory.