Accrington Cricket Club

Accrington v Colne
Sunday June 28th 2009

Thwaites Original Lancashire League
Sunday June 28th Score Score
Accrington 196-8 Colne 142
Scorecard Table
Accrington (12pts) beat Colne (0pts) by 54 runs

Runs for Anil
Sub professional Anil Rideegammanagedera batting during his innings of 81
©Nigel Stockley
Lancashire League champions Accrington stayed on course to retain their title by turning back the challenge of Colne at Thorneyholme Road. A 4th wicket stand of 103 between sub professional Anil Rideegammanagedera (81) and Graham Lloyd (53) rescued Accrington after Anwar Ali (3-67) and skipper Jeff Ellis (4-77) had reduced the champions to 18-4. Lloyd hit nine boundaries in a 69 ball stay before holing out to Ryan Procter on the cover boundary off Adam Holt (1-30) after reaching his first league half century of the season. Former Ashton paid man Rideegammanagedera hit seven fours and two sixes from the 111 balls that he faced before he also holed out to the safe hands of Procter on the boundary. Simon Hanson was unbeaten on 31 as Accrington closed on 196-8. Paul Carroll took 6-30, his best figures for Accrington, as Colne were bowled out for 142. Half of Colne's batsmen were back in the dressing room with just 58 on the board, but Procter hit a fine 44 with five boundaries after his side had been 100-8. He added 41 for the 9th wicket with Matt Walker (14) but Carroll bagged them both to keep Accrington on top with a ninth maximum points victory of the season.