Accrington Cricket Club

Accrington v Church
Sunday June 22nd 2008

SponsorBank Lancashire League
Sunday June 22nd Score Score
Accrington 140 Church 109
Scorecard Table
Accrington (12pts) beat Church (4pts) by 31 runs

not out
Church last man Sam Tucker survives a strong appeal for a catch by Graham Lloyd off David Ormerod
©Nigel Stockley
Accrington maintain their title challenge after beating Church by 31 runs at Thorneyholme Road. Matt Wilson top scored with 35 in the home sides 140 all out. Graham Lloyd (23) and Toby Bulcock (18) shored up the middle order with Andrew Bentley picking up 4-50, and professional Niel Bredenkamp (3-36) and skipper Phil Gilrane (3-50) sharing the remaining wickets. Zahir Afzal then wrecked the Church reply, snapping up Sagawat Hussain (0), Bredenkamp (0) and Ryan North (0) as the visitors were stunned at 1-3 in match that saw eight leg before decisions given. Sam Holt steadied the ship with 23 but sub professional Ameer Khan (3-46) and skipper David Ormerod (3-26 from 19 overs) picked up 3 wickets apiece to leave Church on the ropes at 70-9. A fighting last wicket stand of 37 though made Accrington think hard with Mark Gilrane hitting seven fours from 51 balls in making a career best unbeaten 44, in partnership with Sam Tucker, who made 7 before umpire Dave Parkinson raised his finger to give Afzal (4-28) his 4th wicket and the home side 12 points.