Accrington Cricket Club

Accrington 186-7, Nelson 214-6
20th June 1992

Accrington 1st XI 1992
Accrington 1st XI 1992

Accrington went down to a 28 run defeat to Nelson at Thorneyholme Road. Nelson professional Joe Scuderi took 6-75 from an unbroken 23 over spell to restrict Accrington to 186-7 after the visitors had piled up 214-6. The first wicket to fall was that of Nelson opener Marcus Phelan who was caught by Morgan Whipp off Mark Greenhalgh for 7 with the score on 26. Steve Juliff had the other opener Chris Hartley caught by Neil Barnes for 24 at 36. Greenhalgh bagged the vital wicket of Scuderi (15) at 62. Six runs later Accrington professional Dipak Patel trapped Ian Bythell in front without scoring, a fate that also befell Jason Warwick a dozen runs later. Skipper Michael Bradley and Paul Garaghty then put on 114 for the 6th wicket before Bradley was bowled by Juliff for 52, including six fours. Garaghty and Peter Cockell (16 not out) added an unbroken 20 off the last two overs of the innings. Garaghty finished unbeaten on 83, including nine fours and a six. Opener Neil Barnes led Accrington's reply with a career best 82, including six fours. He added 63 with skipper Nick Marsh (30), 58 with Patel (16) for the 2nd wicket, 18 with Bob Collins (15), 12 with Greenhalgh (0) and 11 with Paul Barratt (6) before falling to Scuderi at 162 in the 41st over. Mark Demaine (12 became Scuderi's 6th victim with Whipp (7 not out) and Martin Whittle (3 not out) still there when the innings closed on 186-7. After 11 games Accrington are in 9th place with 20 points. Scorecard

If you have any memories of 1992 please email Nigel Stockley