Accrington Cricket Club

Accrington 137-8, Haslingden 186-9
12th July 1992

Accrington 1st XI 1992
Accrington 1st XI 1992

Accrington were beaten by title chasing Haslingden by 49 runs at Thorneyholme Road. Visiting professional Phil Simmons top scored with 56 in Haslingden's 186-9. Simmons then took 3-26 from 15 overs, Alan Barnes picked up 3-41 and Mick Tracey 2-63 to restrict Accrington to 137-8. Openers Mike Ingham and John Entwistle put on 39 before Entwistle was caught by Morgan Whipp off Steve Juliff for 10. Ingham and Simmons added 47 before Ingham was bowled by Accrington professional Dipak Patel for 44. Five runs later Stuart Taylor was caught behind by Mick Wilson off Martin Whittle for 4. After adding 47 with Neil Grindrod Simmons was stumped by Wilson off his opposite number Patel after hitting six fours and a six from 67 balls. Mark Griffin (1) chipped a return catch to Patel at 144. Wilson picked up another stumping off Patel to end the innings of Grindrod (26) at 162. Charles Lord was caught by skipper Nick Marsh for 15 six runs later off Juliff and Tracey (3) was bowled by Juliff at 174. Skipper Bob Grimshaw made 14 before holing out to Juliff off Patel from the last ball of the innings leaving wicketkeeper Paul Marcroft unbeaten on 1. Simmons picked up the wicket of Neil Barnes (2) when the opener edged behind to Marcroft. Tracey struck next when he had Patel caught by Grindrod for 6 at 30. Alan Barnes cleaned up Marsh for 20 at 37 and then had Paul Barratt (5) caught by Taylor at 50. Whipp joined Bob Collins to take the score to 64 before holing out to Entwistle off Tracey for 12. Mark Greenhalgh (5) also fell to Barnes at 80 and Simmons returned to the attack to have Collins caught by Barnes for 39 at 111. Juliff hit a senior best 15 before falling to Simmons at 136, adding 25 with Martin Whittle who hit an unbeaten 20. Wilson faced the final two balls before the innings closed on 137-8. Scorecard

If you have any memories of 1992 please email Nigel Stockley