Accrington Cricket Club

Haslingden 155-7, Accrington 153
1st August 1992

Accrington 1st XI 1992
Accrington 1st XI 1992

Title chasing Haslingden completed a third win of the season over Accrington with a 3 wicket win at Bentgate. A 7th wicket stand of 45 between Mark Griffin and Mick Tracey helped Haslingden to victory after professional Phil Simmons had taken 5-52 to bowl Accrington out for 153. Accrington skipper Nick Marsh was bowled by the first ball of Simmons first over with just 2 runs on the board. Former Haslingden player Bob Collins and Accrington professional Dipak Patel took the score to 86 before Patel was caught by Simmons off Tracey for 36. Collins fell to Alan Barnes for 43 at the same score. Paul Barratt (1) fell in Barnes' next over with just a single added. Martin Whittle (16) and Mark Demaine (17) steadied the innings before Whittle fell to Tracey at 114. Morgan Whipp made 9 before edging Simmons to wicketkeeper Paul Marcroft at 128 and Demaine was bowled by the West Indian at 135. Simmons also cleaned up Steve Juliff (2) at 141 with Neil Grindrod picking up Mark Greenhalgh (6) at 145. Simmons cleaned up Damian Clarke (2) to end the innings on 153 leaving Mick Wilson unbeaten on 6. Greenhalgh hit back by having opener John Entwistle (5) caught by Collins at 14. Juliff took a return catch off Mike Ingham (14) at 35 and then Greenhalgh had Simmons caught behind by Wilson at the same score for 14. Stuart Taylor (21) and Grindrod (13 took the score to 69 when the latter was bowled by Greenhalgh and the former caught by Wilson off Patel. Charles Lord helped Griffin to add 17 before falling to Greenhalgh for 4 and then Griffin and Tracey put together their game changing stand. Patel bowled Tracey for 20 to give Accrington some hope but skipper Bob Grimshaw (14 not out) joined Griffin (33 not out) to see Haslingden to victory in the 44th over. Accrington drop down to 10th place with 29 points from 17 games. Scorecard

If you have any memories of 1992 please email Nigel Stockley