Accrington Cricket Club

Church 164, Accrington 144
14th June 1992

Accrington 1st XI 1992
Accrington 1st XI 1992

Accrington went down to a 20 run defeat in a local derby at Church. In a match that saw both professionals taking five wickets, Church's Mark Priest made a match winning 74 to win his duel with the bat with visiting professional Dipak Patel. Priest dominated an opening stand of 60 with Alec Holt who made 12 before being bowled by Mark Greenhalgh. Patel had Priest caught behind by Mick Wilson for 74, including eleven fours, with the score on 108. Five runs later Damian Clarke had Simon Hargreaves caught by Paul Barratt for 3. Phil Sykes made 33 before losing his wicket to Patel at 131. Veteran Ian Osborne was trapped in front by Clarke without scoring at 132. Trevor Hatch (2) also fell to Patel at 141 with Dave Gilrane (17) chipping a return catch to Greenhalgh at 150. Peter Gilrane was run out without scoring and Patel (5-58) removed John Wilkin (1) and Nick Westwell (0) at 164 to leave skipper Ken Fergusson unbeaten on 16 when the innings ended on 164 in the final over. Accrington openers Neil Barnes and skipper Nick Marsh on his return from injury, put on 28 before Barnes was caught by Dave Gilrane off Westwell for 18. Patel fell to the same combination for 25 with 77 ion the board and Marsh's innings ended on 44 when he became Priest's first victim at 111. Bob Collins (17) was Priest's next victim at 128 and three runs later Paul Barratt fell to Westwell for 9. Morgan Whipp (0) was stumped by Holt off Priest at 133 and one run later Greenhalgh (4) also fell to the Church professional. Westwell cleaned up Steve Juliff (5) at 143 and Priest took his fifth wicket by having Wilson caught behind by Holt without scoring. Martin Whittle (6 not out) and Clarke (0 not out) were at the crease when the overs ran out on 144-9. Scorecard

If you have any memories of 1992 please email Nigel Stockley