Accrington Cricket Club

Accrington 107-9, Bacup 112-5
26th July 1992

Accrington 1st XI 1992
Accrington 1st XI 1992

Bacup gained revenge for a 3 wicket defeat at Lanehead three weeks previously with a 5 wicket win at Accrington. After losing Bob Collins (1) at 2, skipper Nick Marsh (37) and professional Dipak Patel (16, passing 500 runs for the season) added 37 before Patel was caught and bowled by his opposite number Roger Harper. Marsh was caught behind by John Chapman off Harper at 63 and Morgan Whipp (5) was bowled by David Ormerod at 70. Paul Barratt (7) was trapped in front by Harper without addition in the 25th over. Jonathan Pickup (9) also gave Harper a return catch at 84. Mark Demaine (20) hit a couple of big sixes before becoming Harper's fifth victim at 99 and Steve Juliff (0) fell to Peter Cook at the same score. Wicketkeeper Mick Wilson (1) fell to Harper (6-36) at 103 leaving veteran Ian Birtwistle (7 not out) and Damian Clarke (0 not out) at the crease when the innings closed after 37 overs, with 72 minutes having been lost to rain. Bacup lost opener Nick Cronshaw (2) to Patel at 5. Patel picked up his 50th wicket of the season when he trapped his opposite number Harper (18) in front t 29. Skipper Peter Thompson (1) fell to Juliff at 34 but opener Mark Taylor and Richard Swift added 29 before Taylor was trapped in front by Clarke for 30. Swift was stumped by Wilson off Patel at 65 but Terry Lord hit an unbeaten 28 in an unbroken stand of 47 with Tony Westwell (8 not out) to see Bacup home with one over to spare. Accrington stay in 9th place with 29 points from 16 games. Scorecard

If you have any memories of 1992 please email Nigel Stockley