Accrington Cricket Club

Accrington 118-5, Todmorden 115-9
1st September 1990

Accrington 1990
Accrington 1st XI 1990

Accrington returned to winning ways with a 5 wicket victory over Todmorden at Thorneyholme Road in the first of five games played in September. Professional Robert Haynes took 4-41 from 17 overs and Ian Birtwistle 2-19 from 11 overs to restrict Todmorden to 115-9 from their 46 overs. After Mark Greenhalgh had removed John Brierley (0) at 2 and Steve Juliff had sent back professional Brett Williams (2) at 9, Ian Smith (32) and Brian Heywood (37) put on 67 for the 3rd wicket. Haynes broke the stand by having Smith caught by Paul Barratt. Birtwistle removed Stuart Priestley (4) at 81 and one run later Haynes had Steve Bailey caught behind by Billy Rawstron without scoring. Heywood departed 2 runs later caught by Haynes off Birtwistle. Haynes also removed Andy Barker (0) and Mike Hartley (6) to have the visitors struggling on 90-8. A late flourish by skipper David Whitehead (19) took Todmorden to 115-9. Accrington also struggled on a damp wicket. Openers Neil Barnes (21) and Nick Marsh (23) put on 41 in 17 overs before Marsh fell to Hartley. Skipper Andy Barker also fell to Hartley for 1 and when Barnes was trapped in front by Stuart Parker without addition Accrington were 49-3 in the 21st over. Hartley also removed Rawstron (7) and Paul Barratt (1) in picking up 4-43 from 20 overs but an unbroken 6th wicket stand of 48 between Haynes (35 not out) and John Seedle (25 not out) took Accrington to victory after 41 overs. Accrington remained in fourth place. Scorecard

If you have any memories of 1990 please email Nigel Stockley