Accrington Cricket Club

Accrington 196-8, Rawtenstall 201-5
17th June 1990

Accrington 1990
Accrington 1st XI 1990

Accrington slipped down to seventh place after going down to a third successive defeat losing at Rawtenstall by 5 runs in a high scoring encounter. Former professional Rod Tucker stood in for Robert Haynes who was laid low with chicken pox, taking 4-47 in the home sides innings of 201-5. Andy Payne hit an unbeaten 52 from 87 balls with four fours and a six, Brian Payne made 41, professional Colin Miller 32, Glenn Barlow 26 and Peter Wood 21. Miller removed Jim Stevenson (4) at 4 but skipper Andy Barker (42) and Tucker (41) put on 86 before Barker was caught behind by Peter Barnes off Miller. Two runs later Tucker fell to Keith Roscoe (3-47). Roscoe also removed Neil Barnes (8) and Paul Barratt (19) with Miller accounting for John Seedle (17) and Mark Greenhalgh (13). Mark Demaine hit an unbeaten 24, including successive boundaries off Bob Holmes final two balls of the innings in Accrington's 196-8. Scorecard

If you have any memories of 1990 please email Nigel Stockley