Accrington Cricket Club

Rawtenstall 197-2, Accrington 195-6
26th August 1990

Accrington 1990
Accrington 1st XI 1990

Second placed Rawtenstall's professional Colin Miller hit an unbeaten century to lead his side to an 8 wicket win over fourth placed Accrington at Bacup Road. Miller hit ten fours and seven sixes in making an unbeaten 103 from just 58 balls. Peter Wood also hit eight fours and two sixes in making an unbeaten 72 from 126 balls, adding an unbroken 152 with his professional following the loss of Glenn Barlow (9) and Andy Payne (2) to Accrington professional Robert Haynes. The West Indian had earlier top scored with 83 from 78 balls, including seven fours and two sixes in Accrington's 195-6. Brett Storey (2-37) removed opener Neil Barnes (6) at 12 and Miller trapped skipper Andy Barker in front for 2 at 33. Billy Rawstron was run out for 2 at 46 but opener Nick Marsh and Haynes put on 56for the 4th wicket. Keith Roscoe ended the stand by bowling Marsh for 41 but Paul Barratt made 39 in adding 76 with Haynes for the 5th wicket. Miller sent back Barratt and Storey dismissed Mark Greenhalgh (4) with John Seedle unbeaten on 5 when the innings closed. In-form Rawtenstall's win was the club's tenth in a row. Accrington stayed in fourth place. Scorecard

If you have any memories of 1990 please email Nigel Stockley