Accrington Cricket Club

Nelson 142, Accrington 178-8
18th August 1990

Accrington 1990
Accrington 1st XI 1990

Accrington gained revenge for last week's defeat to Nelson, winning by 36 runs at Seedhill to stay in fourth place in the table. Nick Marsh's second half century of the season helped Accrington make 178-8 and then professional Robert Haynes took 4-27 to help bowl Nelson out for 142 in reply. Openers Neil Barnes and Marsh put on 54 before veteran Pat Calderbank (4-27) removed Barnes for 31. Calderbank also sent back Billy Rawstron (1) at 56 and Paul Barratt (2) at 74 before Marsh and Haynes put on 55 for the 4th wicket. Calderbank picked up his fourth wicket when he had Marsh caught by Ian Bythell for 50, made from 94 balls and including six fours. Peter Cockell (3-2) removed Haynes (36), Mark Demaine (0) and Mark Greenhalgh for a career best 30, with home professional Eric Simons dismissing stand-in skipper John Seedle for 4. Martin Whittle was unbeaten on 9, adding 39 for the eighth wicket with Greenhalgh. In reply Seedle removed Colin Heap (1) at 10 and Steve Juliff accounted for Nelson skipper Paul Garaghty (14) at 40. Ian Clarkson (41) and Simons (25) put on 51 for the 3rd wicket before both fell to Greenhalgh (2-33). Haynes sent back Ian Scothern (4) as three wickets fell for the addition of 4 runs but Paul Beech (27) and wicketkeeper Mike Bradley (6) put on 31 before Bradley was stumped by Rawstron off Ian Birtwistle. Haynes then removed Beech and Jason Warwick (0) at 140, Birtwistle had Cockell caught by Haynes at 141 and Haynes himself rounded off the match by removing Bythell for 11 as the last 4 wickets fell for the addition of just 2 runs. Scorecard

If you have any memories of 1990 please email Nigel Stockley