Accrington Cricket Club

Accrington 183-8, Nelson 185-3
12th August 1990

Accrington 1990
Accrington 1st XI 1990

Accrington's six match winning run was ended by Nelson who left Thorneyholme Road with a 7 wicket win. Billy Rawstron top scored with 70 in Accrington's 183-8 but half centuries by skipper Paul Garaghty and professional Eric Simons saw Nelson to victory. Peter Cockell (3-62) picked up the early wickets of openers Andy Barker (2) and Nick Marsh (7) before Rawstron and Paul Barratt (28) took the score to 109. Paul Beech broke the stand by having Barratt taken by Garaghty. Simons removed Rawstron at 140 after the wicketkeeper had hit ten fours in his 120 ball knock of 70, passing 3,000 Lancashire League runs in the process. Cockell struck again by sending back John Seedle (12) at 171 and one run later Trevor Hatch (1) fell to Simons. Professional Robert Haynes hit 45 from 39 balls before being run out. Veteran Ian Birtwistle opened the bowling for Accrington, removing Colin Heap (8) at 35 in taking 1-67 from 22 overs. Haynes trapped the dangerous Ian Clarkson for 47 at 83 but Garaghty and Simons added 89 for the 3rd wicket to take Nelson to the brink of victory. Haynes dismissed Garaghty for 61, including six fours with Simons finishing unbeaten on 53 with three fours and two sixes as Nelson got home with 7 wickets and 7 balls to spare. Accrington stayed in fourth place after this defeat. Scorecard

If you have any memories of 1990 please email Nigel Stockley