Accrington Cricket Club

Accrington 83-6, Lowerhouse 131
15th July 1990

Accrington 1990
Accrington 1st XI 1990

Accrington beat Lowerhouse on run rate to register a second win of the weekend at Thorneyholme Road to move up one place to sixth in the table. Professional Robert Haynes took 7-50, including a hat-trick to dismiss Lowerhouse for 131. A 75 minutes stoppage for rain left Accrington needing to chase a reduced target of 80 in 28 overs. This they did for the loss of 6 wickets as the game finished at 7.45pm. Haynes removed his opposite number Delroy Morgan (18) at 28. Stan Heaton and Chris Bleazard (12) took the score to 80 when the latter fell to Mark Greenhalgh. Heaton was next to go at 84 for a top score of 43. Skipper Pankaj Tripathi (11) fell to Haynes at 91. Haynes also picked up Brian Holmes (8) at 111. He sent back Phil Astin (16) at 125 with the last ball of his 18th over and Frank Entwistle (3) and Brian Higgin (2) at 129 with the first two balls of his 19th over to complete his hat-trick. Ian Birtwistle (2-12) polished off the innings by sending back Jez Hope (6) and Alan Holden (0). Holden dismissed Nick Marsh (3) and Billy Rawstron (8) with Hope accounting for skipper Andy Barker (12), Haynes (5) and Paul Barratt (3) but a 30 run stand for the 5th wicket between John Seedle (23 not out) and Trevor Hatch (19) proved vital as Accrington won with two balls to spare. Scorecard

If you have any memories of 1990 please email Nigel Stockley