Accrington Cricket Club

Lowerhouse 124, Accrington 126-3
4th August 1990

Accrington 1990
Accrington 1st XI 1990

Accrington chalked up a sixth successive victory, beating Lowerhouse by 7 wickets at Liverpool Road. Professional Robert Haynes took 7-19 from 18.1 overs and then Nick Marsh hit an unbeaten 58 to see Accrington home in the 35th over. Lowerhouse openers Stan Heaton and professional Delroy Morgan put on 44 before Steve Juliff held a return catch off Heaton (8). Haynes picked up his first wicket by having Morgan caught by Paul Barratt for 37 at 54. Skipper Pankaj Tripathi followed at the same score without scoring and Haynes picked up his third wicket when John Seedle caught Chris Bleazard for 7 at 60. One run later Juliff sent back Brian Holmes without scoring. Phil Astin and Jez Hope put on 28 before Hope fell to Haynes for 2. Dave Whalley (10) helped Astin take the score to 116 before falling to Ian Birtwistle. Haynes then dismissed Astin (36) and Alan Holden in successive balls also at 116. Veteran Brian Higgin hit 8 runs off Birtwistle before falling to Haynes at 124. The West Indian's seven wicket haul was his third of the season and his 18.1 over spell contained 12 maidens. Marsh then hit seven fours and a six from 101 balls in his unbeaten 58. He put on 79 with skipper Andy Barker (36) and 42 with Billy Rawstron, who fell to Bleazard at 121. One run later Paul Barratt (1) fell to Whalley but Marsh hit the winning boundary to secure maximum points. Accrington stayed in fourth place in the table. Scorecard

If you have any memories of 1990 please email Nigel Stockley