Accrington Cricket Club

Enfield 87, Accrington 88-4
6th May 1990

Accrington 1990
Accrington 1st XI 1990

Accrington notched up a third successive win of the season by beating Enfield by 6 wickets at Dill Hall Lane to move in to second place in the table after four matches. Professional Robert Haynes took 7-32 to dismiss Enfield for 87. Dean Rogers was first to go taken behind the wicket by Billy Rawstron off Haynes for 1 with 7 on the board. Mas Ahmed was next to go caught by Trevor Hatch off Mark Greenhalgh for 6 at 26. Professional Chris Killen and opener Damian Hartley to the score to 49 when Hartley was run out for 21. Rawstron picked up his second catch off Haynes to end the innings of Killen for 24 at 61. Nigel Cunliffe (6) and Paul Hand (2) fell to the same combination and when Haynes also picked up Mas Iqbal (1) and Mick Devenney (1) 5 wickets had fallen for the addition of just 6 runs. Tony Bramley became Haynes' seventh victim for 12 and when skipper John Cahill was run out without scoring to leave John Bramwell unbeaten on 6, Enfield were all out for 87 after 41.3 overs. Killen had both opener Nick Marsh (2) and Rawstron (12) caught behind by Cahill before trapping Haynes in front for 16. Devenney accounted for Trevor Hatch (6) but skipper Andy Barker hit an unbeaten 35 to steer Accrington to victory in the 26th over with Paul Barratt also unbeaten on 7. Scorecard

If you have any memories of 1990 please email Nigel Stockley