Accrington Cricket Club

Accrington 86-0, Burnley 85
9th September 1990

Accrington 1990
Accrington 1st XI 1990

Accrington ruthlessly brushed Burnley aside to secure a fourth straight win this time by 10 wickets at Thorneyholme Road. Professional Robert Haynes took 7-20 to dismiss Burnley for 85. The visitors made a sound start until Steve Juliff snapped up the vital wicket of Burnley professional Mudassar Nazar (13) with the total on 28 in the 10th over. Haynes picked up his first wicket when he clean bowled Terry Little (9) at 47. Eleven runs later a spectacular collapse saw six wickets fall for the addition of just 4 runs with Haynes removing opener Trevor Pickup (22) and Mark Harvey (0) at 58. John Seedle (2-20) sent back Duncan Spencer (4) without addition with Haynes adding Neil Anderson (1), Chris Wright (1), Andy McLeod (0) and Bob Whitaker (1) to his tally. Seedle polished off the innings by removing Ishrat Mehdi (15) leaving Trevor Jones unbeaten on 2 when the innings folded after 42 overs. Skipper Andy Barker then hit seven fours in making an unbeaten 58 with Nick Marsh also unbeaten on 26 when the points were secured in the 26th over. With one match left to play Accrington remained in fourth place. Scorecard

If you have any memories of 1990 please email Nigel Stockley