Accrington Cricket Club

Burnley 103, Accrington 104-6
29th April 1990

Accrington 1990
Accrington 1st XI 1990

Accrington picked up their first win of the new decade with a 4 wicket victory at Burnley. Professional Robert Haynes took 5-40, John Seedle 3-29 and Steve Juliff 2-21 to dismiss Burnley for 103 in 42.2 overs. Haynes struck the first blow by having opener Terry Little caught by Nick Marsh without scoring. Juliff then had Duncan Spencer caught by Haynes for 6 at 31 and then Haynes removed skipper Roger Law (9) at 56 and 1 run later professional Mudassar Nazar (37). Wicketkeeper Andy McLeod was the only other player to make double figures before being last man out for a career best 17, trapped by Seedle. Accrington openers Marsh and skipper Andy Barker put on 40 before Marsh was caught behind by McLeod off Mudassar for 17. Barker was bowled by Bob Whitaker for 27 at 61. Trevor Jones held a brilliant return catch off Haynes (9) at 76 and 1 run later Whitaker bowled Paul Barratt (1). Seedle (9) helped Accrington edge closer to victory before McLeod whipped off his bails at 90 to give Jones (2-49) his second wicket. Billy Rawstron fell 4 runs later to Whitaker for 20 but Trevor Hatch hit an unbeaten 13, including a six to win the game, to take the visitors to victory after 42 overs. Whitaker finished with 3-3 from 9 overs, 7 of which were maidens. Scorecard

If you have any memories of 1990 please email Nigel Stockley