Accrington Cricket Club

Accrington 122-6, Bacup 173-6
29th July 1990

Accrington 1990
Accrington 1st XI 1990

Accrington won for the fifth match running, beating Bacup by 4 wickets in a rain affected game at Thorneyholme Road to move up one place to fifth in the table. After a second break for the weather Bacup's innings was terminated on 173-6 after 43.4 overs. Openers Peter Thompson (35) and Jonathan Heaton (39) put on 73 before skipper Thompson fell to Steve Juliff (3-43). Professional Roger Harper departed for 5 to Mark Greenhalgh for the second time this season at 83 and six runs later home professional Robert Haynes trapped Heaton in front. Juliff dismissed Terry Lord (16) at 111. Peter Usher and Nick Cronshaw added 51 for the 5th wicket before Cronshaw offered a return catch to John Seedle for 5. Juliff removed Peter Cook at 73 and when rain terminated the innings Usher had made an unbeaten 53 from 40 balls with six fours and a six. Accrington lost openers Nick Marsh (3) and skipper Andy Barker (4) before rain stopped play for almost an hour. Billy Rawstron and Paul Barratt resumed their innings at 6.45pm with Accrington needing 119 from 30 overs to win. John Nuttall (2-29) dismissed Barratt for 20 at 39 and Usher accounted for Rawstron (21) at 76. Haynes made 36 before being stumped by John Chapman off Harper at 110 and Seedle fell to Usher for 20 with 1 required for victory. Trevor Hatch (6 not out) hit the winning boundary with 2 balls to spare. Scorecard

If you have any memories of 1990 please email Nigel Stockley