Accrington Cricket Club

Bacup 93-7, Accrington 91-9
8th July 1990

Accrington 1990
Accrington 1st XI 1990

Accrington lost a low scoring encounter at Bacup by 3 wickets after being restricted to 91-9 in their 46 overs. John Nuttall took 4-37 for Bacup with skipper Andy Barker (1) first to depart in the 5th over, clean bowled by the medium pacer. Professional Robert Haynes was next in and he smashed his first ball to the boundary. The West Indian didn't last long falling to Nuttall at 23 for 10 after opener Jim Stevenson (3) was caught by Bacup professional off Nuttall and Trevor Hatch (4) had fallen to Peter Cook. Nuttall picked up his 4th wicket when John Seedle fell for 1 to leave Accrington in deep trouble at 26-5. Mark Demaine was run out for 1 six runs later, but Nick Marsh, who had dropped down the order to number six, and Mark Greenhalgh both made 22 in a 7th wicket stand of 33. Both men fell to David Ormerod (2-13). Harper took his only wicket of the innings when he dismissed wicketkeeper Mick Wilson (2) leaving Steve Juliff (10 not out) and Ian Birtwistle (2 not out) to bat out the last 11 overs to take Accrington to 91-9 from 46 overs. Seedle trapped Jonathan Heaton (4) at 7 but skipper Peter Thompson and Harper took the score to 43 when Harper was caught behind by Wilson off Greenhalgh for 11. Peter Usher went in identical fashion after scoring all 14 runs in partnership with his skipper. Thompson fell without addition, caught by Barker off Haynes for a 70 ball innings of 21. Nick Cronshaw (2) also fell to Greenhalgh (3-33) for runs later. Haynes picked up David Thompson (2) at 67 but Richard Swift (10 not out) and Cook edged Bacup closer to victory when Cook fell to Haynes final ball of the 45th over with the scores level. Wicketkeeper John Chapman (2 not out) hit the winnings runs off Greenhalgh with 3 balls remaining to earn Bacup a hard fought victory. Accrington dropped down one place to seventh in the table. Scorecard

If you have any memories of 1990 please email Nigel Stockley