Accrington Cricket Club

Todmorden 160-5, Accrington 165-4
23rd July 1989

Accrington 1st XI 1989
Accrington 1st XI 1989

Accrington completed the treble over Todmorden beating their opponents by 6 wickets at Centre Vale just seven days after emerging victorious in the league encounter at Thorneyholme Road. Accrington again opened the bowling with professional Robert Haynes and Ian Birtwistle who removed Albert Ross (3) with the score on 15. David Parsons replaced Birtwistle in the attack and removed Todmorden sub professional Brendan McArdle (3) in his first over at 21. Haynes had opener Ian Smith caught by skipper David Lloyd for 21 at 57 and four runs later he had John Brierley caught by Neil Holmes without scoring. Skipper David Whitehead (13) helped Stuart Bailey add 34 for the 5th wicket before falling to the same combination. Bailey finished unbeaten on 69, adding an unbroken 65 for the 6th wicket with Brian Heywood who made an unbeaten 26 in Todmorden's 160-5. Bailey faced 100 balls and hit three fours and three sixes during his innings. Opener Nick Marsh batted through the innings leading Accrington to victory with an unbeaten 60 made from 122 balls and containing six boundaries. Marsh added 39 with fellow opener Andy Barker who made 15 before being caught by Whitehead off Mick Hartley. Haynes hit 35 from 34 balls in adding 49 with Marsh and Glyn Davies made 9 in taking the score to 114. Smith had Paul Barratt caught behind by Whitehead for 5, ten runs later, leaving Lloyd (26 not out) to keep Marsh company in an unbroken 5th wicket stand of 41 to see Accrington to victory with 2 overs to spare. The win took Accrington back up to second place 9 points behind leaders Haslingden. Scorecard

If you have any memories of 1989 please email Nigel Stockley