Accrington Cricket Club

Accrington 165, Todmorden 151-8
16th July 1989

Accrington 1st XI 1989
Accrington 1st XI 1989

Accrington got back to winning ways after two successive defeats with a 14 run win over Todmorden at Thorneyholme Road. Accrington openers Nick Marsh and Andy Barker put on 46 before Barker was bowled by Tom Farry for 20. Stuart Parker removed Marsh for 31 with the score on 76 with skipper David Lloyd then falling to Farry for 18 at 85. Mick Hartley had Accrington professional Robert Haynes caught by Farry for 25 with the score on 132. Billy Rawstron fell to Parker for 23 two runs later. Parker also picked up Paul Barratt (4) at 139, Trevor Hatch (2) at 147 and Martin Whittle (0) at 154 to finish with 5-45. Mark Demaine made 13 before falling to Hartley, Neil Holmes was run out for 3 leaving Ian Birtwistle unbeaten without facing when the innings ended on 165. Birtwistle and Haynes opened the bowling and restricted Todmorden to 8 runs off the first six overs, three of which were maidens. Albert Ross was caught by Barker off Birtwistle in the seventh over for 5 with 13 on the board. Haynes removed the other opener Stuart Bailey for 23 at 40 and Stuart Priestley at 53 without scoring. Skipper David Whitehead joined sub professional Brendan McArdle to add 55 for the 4th wicket before falling to Lloyd for 30. Lloyd also accounted for Hartley (4) and John Garland (2). Haynes removed McArdle after the Australian had made 58 from 108 balls with six fours to leave Todmorden 139-7 in the 44th over. Haynes (4-59) also had Simon Barker stumped by Rawstron leaving Farry (11 not out) and John Wadsworth (1 not out) to score 18 off his final over for victory. Scorecard

If you have any memories of 1989 please email Nigel Stockley