Accrington Cricket Club

Accrington 177-3, Nelson 175-8
24th June 1989

Accrington 1st XI 1989
Accrington 1st XI 1989

Professional Robert Haynes celebrated being called up to the West Indies squad by hitting a match winning 97 to lead second placed Accrington to a 7 wicket win over Nelson at Thorneyholme Road after visiting professional Jamie Brayshaw batted through his team's innings to hit an unbeaten century. Brayshaw hit nine fours and a six in making an unbeaten 103 from 107 balls in Nelson's 175-8. The Australian lost Phillip Pickles (0) to Neil Holmes at 2 before adding 78 with skipper Chris Hartley (33) who was bowled by Accrington skipper David Lloyd. Paul Garaghty (17) added 42 with his professional before falling to Lloyd who also dismissed Marcus Phelan (1) four runs later. Paul Beech (3) was run out at 149 and Peter Cockell was bowled by Haynes for 5 at 164. Michael Bradley (4) became Lloyd's fourth victim at 171 and Ian Bythell fell to Haynes off the last ball of the innings. Lloyd finished with 4-66. Andy Barker (10) fell to Cockell at 15 but Nick Marsh and Haynes added a brisk 85 before the opener also fell to Cockell for 15. Haynes smashed ten fours and five sixes in making a league best 97 from just 67 balls before holing out to Garaghty off Beech at 145. Billy Rawstron (27 not out) and Paul Barratt (16 not out) saw Accrington to victory after 32 overs with an unbroken stand of 32. Accrington stay in second place after leaders East Lancs lost to Burnley with Haslingden leap frogging both clubs after taking maximum points against Bacup. Scorecard

If you have any memories of 1989 please email Nigel Stockley