Accrington Cricket Club

Nelson 99-7, Accrington 94
1st July 1989

Accrington 1st XI 1989
Accrington 1st XI 1989

Nelson gained revenge for last weeks defeat at Thorneyholme Road by beating Accrington by 3 wickets in a low scoring encounter on a damp wicket at Seedhill. Peter Cockell took 6-49 to dismiss the visitors for 94. Accrington skipper David Lloyd hit back with 5-34 but Nelson edged to victory after losing 7 wickets. After rain delayed the start until 2.55pm, Cockell began his unbroken destructive spell by removing openers Nick Marsh (2) and Andy Barker (10). Nelson professional Jamie Brayshaw (3-35) dismissed his opposite number Robert Haynes (6) with Cockell sending back the in-form Billy Rawstron (1) and Trevor Hatch (0) in successive balls at 24. Paul Barratt (26) was joined by Lloyd (5) in a 30 run stand for the 6th wicket before Brayshaw dismissed both men. Mark Demaine (6) gave Michael Bradley his third catch behind the wicket off Cockell who also dismissed Martin Whittle for 21 after a 9th wicket stand of 28 with David Parsons. Andy McNicholas joined the attack and removed Parsons for 10. Spinners Haynes and Lloyd opened the bowling. Lloyd claimed the scalps of Phillip Pickles and skipper Chris Hartley for ducks and when Haynes bowled Brayshaw for 8, Accrington were back in the game with Nelson 10-3. Paul Garaghty and Marcus Phelan fought back to add 38 for the 4th wicket before Lloyd bowled the left handed Garaghty for 27. Nine runs later Lloyd sent back Phelan for 13. Attacking leg stump with leg slips and leg gullies, Lloyd accounted for Bradley (5) at 67 and Haynes removed Ian Bythell (1) at 76 but Paul Beech hit an unbeaten 22 and Jason Warwick an unbeaten 16 to lead Nelson to victory after 32 overs. Accrington dropped down to third place. Scorecard

If you have any memories of 1989 please email Nigel Stockley