Accrington Cricket Club

Enfield 109, Accrington 110-1
20th August 1989

Accrington 1st XI 1989
Accrington 1st XI 1989

Accrington gained a measure of revenge for their defeat in the 4 Sports Worsley Cup Final with a comprehensive 9 wicket win over Enfield at Dill Hall Lane to complete the double over their local rivals. Professional Robert Haynes took 5-37 to dismiss Enfield for 109. David Parsons sent back opener David Stanley for 8 with the score on 14 to make the breakthrough. Haynes had his opposite number Gavin Larson caught by Mark Demaine for 20 in the 15th over with the score on 40. Parsons struck again to remove skipper Paul Allen without scoring at 45 and Haynes had Damien Hartley caught by Trevor Hatch also without scoring three runs later. Nigel Cunliffe joined Mas Ahmed to take the score to 76 before falling to Ian Birtwistle for 15. Maz Iqbal was bowled by Haynes for 7 at 89 and Eric Blanche was run out for 1 at 96. One run later Birtwistle ended Ahmed's 89 ball innings for 22 then Haynes polished off the tail by cleaning up Richie Hargreaves (8) and John Cahill (0) at 109 leaving John Bramwell unbeaten on 5. Accrington openers Nick Marsh and stand-in skipper Andy Barker put on 57 before Barker fell to Bramwell for 32. Marsh hit an unbeaten 45 and Haynes an unbeaten 24 from 13 balls to see Accrington to a second victory of the weekend in the 28th over. Accrington stay in second place and cut Haslingden's lead down to 16 points but Enfield slipped back to the bottom of the table. Scorecard

If you have any memories of 1989 please email Nigel Stockley