Accrington Cricket Club

Accrington 109, Nelson 113-1
26th June 1988

Accrington 1988
Accrington 1st XI 1988
©Lancashire Telegraph

Nelson professional Anton Ferreira took all ten Accrington wickets in the visitors 9 wicket win at Thorneyholme Road. Ferreira became the fifth Nelson player to achieve the feat and the second to achieve the feat against Accrington after Learie Constantine who took 10-10 at Seedhill in 1934. Michael Bradley also became the first wicketkeeper to take eight catches in an innings equalling William Worsley's league record of eight victims in a match for Church against East Lancs in 1903. There was no hint of the carnage to follow when Accrington opener Nick Marsh (5) became the first victim of the Bradley-Ferreira combination at 16. Neil Barnes followed at 23 for 15. Stand-in skipper Graham Beech was next to go at 42 having faced seventeen balls for 2 runs. Andy Barker made 15 when he departed at 66 caught by Peter Gildea, Trevor Hatch (4) went at 86 with professional Rod Tucker leaving at 87 after making 42 from 53 balls. Mark Demaine was caught by skipper Chris Hartley for 8 with the score on 109. The Bradley-Ferreira combo then struck three times in 6 balls to send back Neil Holmes, Mick Donnelly and Ian Birtwistle with the last 4 wickets all falling on 109. Paul Barratt finished unbeaten on 14. Ferreira earned a collection of £23 in taking 10-45 with Bradley picking up £25 for his exploits. It took Nelson 21.4 overs to knock off the runs for the loss of Bradley who was bowled by Tucker without scoring with the total on 1. Hartley and Paul Garaghty saw off a six pronged home attack with the Nelson skipper hitting four fours and a six in his unbeaten 55 off 62 balls. Garaghty hit seven fours in making a 58 ball unbeaten 46. Accrington dropped down two places in the table to ninth place. Scorecard

If you have any memories of 1988 please email Nigel Stockley