Accrington Cricket Club

Rawtenstall 83, Accrington 218-8
Telegraph Cup Round Semi Final
6th July 1986

Accrington 1986
Accrington CC 1986

Accrington avenged their 1976 final defeat in style with a 135 run win at Rawtenstall. Accrington again had a bad start, losing Billy Rawstron to professional Tony Merrick's fourth ball before the scoreboard had started ticking. Andy Stevenson (30) and Graham Lloyd (18) again repaired the damage with a 56 run stand, but Merrick removed them both within the space of 1 run. Neil Jones (7) fell to Keith Roscoe at 85-4 but then Rod Tucker (44) and acting skipper David Lloyd (59) put on 67 for the 5th wicket to put Accrington in charge. Mark Aspin (18) added 46 with the skipper, who was 8th out at 202 as Accrington closed on 218-8. Tucker then destroyed Rawtenstall's batting with a 6-31 spell aided by David Lloyd, who took 3-18 to roll the home side over for 83. Merrick top scored with 17 for the home side before being superbly caught one handed on the boundary by Alan Worsick. Scorecard

If you have any memories of 1986 please email Nigel Stockley