Accrington Cricket Club

Nelson 82-3, Accrington 78-9
16th August 1986

Accrington 1986
Accrington CC 1986

Lancashire League leaders Nelson completed the double over new Lancashire Evening Telegraph Cup winners Accrington at Seedhill just seven days after their win at Thorneyholme Road. Peter Cockell took 7-26 to restrict Accrington to 78-9 from 37 overs in a rain affected match. Cockell's first victim was opener Andy Stevenson (4) followed by professional Rod Tucker (0) and skipper Trevor Hatch (1). Recalled veteran opener Geoff Hayhurst dug in and had made 26 from 65 balls in 86 minutes when Pat Calderbank claimed his 900th Lancashire League wicket with the score on 45. Cockell struck again removing Neil Jones (5), Paul Barratt (4) and Mark Aspin (0). Michael Bradley stumped Andy Gardener off Calderbank for 6 and Cockell picked up victim number seven by cleaning up Alan Worsick for 8. Billy Rawstron was unbeaten on 11 when the innings closed. Accrington's innings was played in constant drizzle but when Nelson batted the sun came out and the earlier erratic seam movement disappeared completely. Tucker removed Nelson skipper Ian Clarkson for 9 and Worsick sent back Howard Lonsdale (9) at 31 but Paul Garaghty and professional Eric Simons put on 32 to put the home side in control before the amateur was stumped by Rawstron off Stevenson for 30. Simons steered Nelson home with 1 over to spare with an unbeaten 26 consigning Accrington to defeat number six in seven league games. Accrington stay in fourth place 12 points behind leaders Todmorden. Scorecard

If you have any memories of 1986 please email Nigel Stockley