Accrington Cricket Club

Accrington 168-8, Nelson 169-6
9th August 1986

Accrington 1986
Accrington CC 1986

Lancashire Evening Telegraph Cup finalists Accrington warmed up for Sunday's final with an improved performance but Trevor Hatch's men still went down to defeat for the fifth time in their last six matches this time losing to league leaders Nelson by 4 wickets at Thorneyholme Road. Graham Lloyd made a welcome return to form hitting a league best 67 in Accrington's 168-8. Lloyd added 27 with Andy Stevenson (13), 66 with professional Rod Tucker (34), and 27 with Neil Jones (12) before falling to the veteran Pat Calderbank after hitting six fours in an 111 ball innings. Calderbank finished with 5-52 from 15 overs. Alan Worsick removed Howard Lonsdale for 1 and the dangerous Nelson skipper Ian Clarkson was run out for 37 at 51. Paul Garaghty proved to be the match winner, making 72 from 112 balls with six fours and two sixes before falling to Worsick (2-41). Ian Birtwistle added Eric Simons (8) to his list of professionals wickets but inspite of David Lloyd removing Marcus Phelan without scoring and Chris Hartley for 23, Ian Pickles (18 not out) and Peter Cockell (3 not out) saw Nelson home with just 2 balls to spare. Inspite of this victory Nelson lost the leadership to Todmorden. Accrington drop another place to fourth. Scorecard

If you have any memories of 1986 please email Nigel Stockley