Accrington Cricket Club

Haslingden 148-8, Accrington 149-5
30th August 1986

Accrington 1986
Accrington CC 1986

Accrington left Bentgate with a 5 wicket win over Haslingden after a solid team performance. After losing openers John Entwistle (4) and Stuart Taylor (8), Michael Ingham steered Haslingden to 148-8 with a 124 ball knock of 72 which included four fours and four sixes. Skipper Bryan Knowles also fell to Mark Aspin (3-63) at 28. Paul Blackledge made 16 in his first senior innings before lifted a return catch to Ian Birtwistle (1-18) and professional Hartley Alleyne hit 24 from 41 balls. Ingham and Bob Collins both fell in successive balls to David Lloyd (2-45) at 142, leaving Bob Grimshaw (3 not out) unbeaten at the close. After Alan Barnes sent back Geoff Hayhurst without scoring at 4, opener Andy Gardener (13) and Graham Lloyd (22) put on 34 before Alleyne trapped Gardener in front. Andrew Sidley clean bowled Lloyd but Billy Rawstron (16) added 40 with Tucker before becoming Barnes' (2-66) second victim. Tucker was run out for 45, 20 runs later leaving David Lloyd (14 not out) and Neil Jones (15 not out) to take Accrington to victory with just 3 balls remaining. Accrington stay in fourth place 16 points behind leaders Todmorden. Scorecard

If you have any memories of 1986 please email Nigel Stockley