Accrington Cricket Club

Colne 141-8, Accrington 197-6
14th June 1986

Accrington 1986
Accrington CC 1986

Accrington won for the fifth match running leaving the Horsfield with a 56 run win over Colne. Accrington made 197-6 after being asked to bat. After losing Andy Stevenson (1) with just a single on the board, sound knocks from the middle order put the visitors in charge. Professional Rod Tucker top scored with 52 before falling to Gary Hunt, David Lloyd hit an unbeaten 44, Neil Jones made 35, Paul Barratt 21, Graham Lloyd 16, Alan Worsick an unbeaten 12 and skipper Trevor Hatch 11. Trevor Kegg took 3-52 in 11 overs for Colne. Tucker was soon amongst the wickets, having Terry Little caught by Jones for 4. Professional Rizwan-uz-Zaman proved the one real stumbling block for Accrington, hitting 67 before falling to David Lloyd at 118. Paul Simmonite (22) added 64 with his professional but both he and Hunt fell at 68. Keith Woodhead made 14 before falling to David Lloyd (4-43) with Steve Hipgrave's unbeaten 23 being the only other score in double figures for the home side. Ian Birtwistle picked up Andy Leah and Kegg to help restrict Colne to 141-8. Accrington stay in second place but drop 3 points behind leaders Nelson. Scorecard

If you have any memories of 1986 please email Nigel Stockley