Accrington Cricket Club

Accrington 76, Bacup 149
31st August 1986

Accrington 1986
Accrington CC 1986

Accrington fell under the spell of Ashanta de Mel for the second Saturday running losing to Bacup by 73 runs at Thorneyholme Road. de Mel made another half century and then took 6-45 to bowl Accrington out for 76 after Bacup had made 149. Mark Aspin sent back Mark Taylor before a run had been scored and professional Rod Tucker removed Peter Thompson (2) at 5, but de Mel and Peter Usher (21) put on 80 for the 3rd wicket. The Sri Lankan made 52 from 81 balls with five fours and two sixes before losing his wicket to Ian Birtwistle. Brian Davies (15) and John Chapman (10) also made double figures with Aspin finishing with 4-40 for Accrington. Both of Accrington's openers fell without scoring with Geoff Hayhurst falling to Fell and de Mel snapping up Andy Gardener. Tucker (15) took the score to 20 with Graham Lloyd but de Mel struck again to send back his opposite number who was his 50th wicket of the season, Billy Rawstron (0) and David Lloyd (0). Fell cleaned up Neil Jones (0) to have the home side staggering on 23-6. Aspin added 24 with Lloyd who batted 67 minutes and faced 40 balls in scoring 17 before falling to de Mel. Fell cleaned up Andy Stevenson (9) and skipper Trevor Hatch (6) with Aspin becoming de Mel's sixth victim after hitting a top score of 21. Fell finished with 4-23. Accrington stay in fourth place 16 points behind new joint leaders Rishton and Nelson. Scorecard

If you have any memories of 1986 please email Nigel Stockley