Accrington Cricket Club

Bacup 117-4, Accrington 115
24th August 1986

Accrington 1986
Accrington CC 1986

Accrington went down to a 6 wicket defeat at bottom club Bacup. After openers Geoff Hayhurst (10) and Andy Gardener (13) had put on 23, Bacup professional Ashantha de Mel took 4-38 to reduce the visitors to 37-6. De Mel sent back Gardener, professional Rod Tucker (3), Billy Rawstron (0) and Mark Aspin (0) with Peter Fell removing Paul Barratt (0) and John Nuttall picking up Neil Jones (11) who added 25 for the 7th wicket with Andy Stevenson. After making a top score of 34, Stevenson fell to David Usher. Skipper Trevor Hatch hit an unbeaten 19 with Neal Wilkinson removing Ian Birtwistle and Alan Worsick as Accrington were bowled out for 115. David Usher fell to Tucker and Aspin had Mark Taylor caught by Stevenson at 21. Aspin (3-41) also sent back Peter Thompson for 15 and Peter Usher without scoring but but de Mel hit an unbeaten from 52 balls with eight fours and two sixes, adding an unbroken 65 for the 5th wicket with Terry Lord (20 not out) to seal an easy win. Accrington stay in fourth place but drop to 16 points behind leaders Todmorden. Scorecard

If you have any memories of 1986 please email Nigel Stockley