Accrington Cricket Club

Accrington 89, Nelson 90-8
17th August 1985

Accrington 1985
Accrington CC 1985
©Lancashire Telegraph

Nelson crept to a 2 wicket win at Accrington in a low scoring match. Nelson professional Terry Hunte took 7-39 to bowl the home side out for 89. The West Indian removed Billy Rawstron (7) at 15 and professional David Lloyd (15) with wicketkeeper Michael Bradley taking both catches. Skipper Trevor Hatch (5) was next to leave at 48 with Graham Lloyd (15) departing to the Bradley-Hunte combo 1 run later. Pat Calderbank then removed Neil Jones (0) and top scorer Andy Stevenson (17). Hunte accounted for Mark Aspin (7) and Paul Barratt became the third man out on 76 this time to Calderbank (3-23). Hunte then wrapped up the innings removing Andy Gardener (2) and Alan Worsick (11). Openers Ian Clarkson (19) and Howard Lonsdale (18) put on 33 before Clarkson was run out. Lonsdale followed to Ian Birtwistle 10 runs later and David Lloyd ended Paul Garaghty's innings of 14 at 59. Birtwistle also removed Hunte at the same score to give Accrington some hope but Chris Hartley (21) and Chris Heap (7) put on 25 before the latter was stumped by Rawstron off Lloyd. The Accrington professional also sent back Milton Lord (0) and Peter Cockell (0) at the same score with Hartley becoming Lloyd's (5-35) fifth victim, brilliantly caught by the 'hare like' Paul Barratt with the scores level. Ian Bythell and Bradley saw Nelson over the line with 6.5 overs to spare. Accrington stayed in fourth place inspite of losing for the third match in a row. Scorecard

If you have any memories of 1985 please email Nigel Stockley