Accrington Cricket Club

Burnley 111-1, Accrington 109
16th June 1985

Accrington 1985
Accrington CC 1985
©Lancashire Telegraph

Accrington's run of three successive wins was ended at Burnley who won by the comprehensive margin of 9 wickets. Burnley's four pronged attack of professional Mudassar Nazar (3-23), Paul Spencer (1-25), and spin twins Trevor Jones (4-22) and Bob Whitaker (224) strangled the home batsmen to 109 all out in the 46th and final over of the innings. After losing professional David Lloyd (11) at 18, just 21 came from the first ten overs and at the 20 over mark Accrington were 54-3. The normally fluent Neil Jones struggled for 16 balls in scoring just 1 run, skipper Trevor Hatch faced 12 balls for 3, Andy Stevenson 29 balls for 14 and Mark Aspin 38 balls for 11. Opener Billy Rawstron was fifth out at 60 having made 17 from 63 balls. Andy Gardener (7 from 38 balls) and Paul Barratt (13 from 26 balls) battled away against the spinners and Neil Barnes stuck around for 20 balls in making 6. It took Burnley until the 39th over to score the runs, losing Trevor Pickup to Lloyd for 29 with the score on 79. Mudassar hit an unbeaten 66 from 128 balls with nine fours to earn a collection of £20.68 and stand-in skipper Peter Brown was unbeaten on 12 when the game ended. Accrington stayed in fourth place in the table. Scorecard

If you have any memories of 1985 please email Nigel Stockley