Accrington Cricket Club

Accrington 83-6, Enfield 136-7
10th May 1981

Accrington 1981
Accrington 1st XI 1981
©Stephen Blunt

Accrington's poor start to the season continued with a fourth successive defeat this time by local rivals Enfield at Thorneyholme Road. Neil Jones sent back Enfield skipper Geoff Dixon without scoring at 7 and Ian Birtwistle held a return catch off Mark Whelan (14 at 25. Accrington professional David Stead (3-59) clean bowled opener David Stanley (18) at 57 and then sent back Ian Metcalf (10) and Keith Windle (0) at 78. Trevor Hatch (2-34) claimed the prized wicket of Steve Witton (2) at 83 and Enfield professional Madan Lal (43) at 92, but George Holt (22 not out) and Colin Farrow (23 not out) put on an unbroken 44 for the 8th wicket to take the visitors to 136-7. Tight bowling by Lal (1-32 from 17 overs) and Stanley 4-38 restricted Accrington to 83-6. Wicketkeeper John Cahill snapped up openers Graham Beech (2) off Lal at 10 and Geoff Hayhurst (11) off Stanley at 18. Stanley sent back Mark Aspin and Peter West without scoring and when Stead (25) also fell to the medium pacer Accrington were in deep trouble at 41-5. Ray Haworth (23 not out) and Jones (18) put on 38 and after Peter Holt removed Jones skipper Alan Richardson (3 not out) stayed with Haworth until the close. Now the only team yet to win point in 1981, Accrington dropped to bottom place in the table. Scorecard

If you have any memories of 1981 please email Nigel Stockley