Accrington Cricket Club

Accrington 196-2, Bacup 98-8,
July 1981

Accrington 1981
Accrington 1st XI 1981
©Stephen Blunt

Graham Beech hit a career best unbeaten 111 to help Accrington to a 98 run win over Bacup at Thorneyholme Road. Beech and professional David Stead (45) put on 131 for the 1st wicket before the New Zealander fell to Keith Roscoe (1-72). Neil Jones was run out for 15 and skipper Alan Richardson was unbeaten on 8 when the innings closed on 196. Mick Donnelly took a senior best 3-11 to help restrict Bacup to 98-8. Stead removed Rob Buckley (31) and Mark Taylor (8), Ian Birtwistle sent back skipper Phil Lord (18) and Roger Law (2) with Donnelly accounting for Neil Chadwick (7), professional Ray Wynter (9) and John Kershaw (3). Peter Mulderrig (5 not out) and Roscoe (2 not out) were the not out batsmen when the innings closed. Accrington swapped places with Bacup in the table moving up to tenth after 18 games. Scorecard

If you have any memories of 1981 please email Nigel Stockley