Accrington Cricket Club

Accrington 119, Burnley 119
20th May 1978

Accrington 1978
Accrington CC 1978
©Garth Dawson

Another dramatic match against Burnley at Thorneyholme Road ended in a tie with both sides being dismissed for 119.

Professional Alan Worsick (4-48) and Dave Parsons (4-43) took 4 wickets apiece and Ian Birtwistle took 2-17 to dismiss Burnley with just 4 balls remaining of their innings.

Skipper Roland Harrison won the toss and batted but he was soon returning to the pavilion without troubling the scorers after being caught by Geoff Hayhurst off Parsons. The in-form left arm paceman again accounted for the opposition professional when he held on to a return catch off Shafiq Ahmed who made just 10. The stubborn Trevor Pickup (31) and Graham Bushell (24) put on 43 but 4 wickets fell for 12 runs with Worsick and Birtwistle sharing their wickets and those of Neil Whalley and Barry Bromley who both failed to score.

Paul Killian (13) and wicketkeeper Gordon Allison, who made a career best unbeaten 28, put on 28 for the 7th wicket but then another collapse ensued with 3 wickets falling for the addition of just 3 runs. Worsick cleaned up last man Gary Downey to end the innings after a last wicket stand of 12 with Allison.

A mix up saw Graham Beech run out for 5 with 13 on the board and then Trevor Jones dismissed John Swanney (9) at 28. Shafiq dismissed Malcolm Taylor for 13 and Hayhurst was run out for 24. Jones then picked up his 200thLancashire League wicket when he bowled home skipper Peter West for 1 but Alan Richardson (26) and Worsick took the score to 89.

John Edmondson dismissed them both along with Tony Gallagher (7) and wicketkeeper Paul Graham (0) to bring the last pair together with 15 needed for victory.

Birtwistle and Parsons eked out 14 runs but Parsons was run out off Jones' penultimate ball of the match by Trevor Pickup with the scores level. Scorecard