Accrington Cricket Club

Accrington 205-7, Bacup 204-6
Saturday July 10th 1976

Accrington 1976
Accrington 1st XI 1976
©Garth Dawson

The second half of the season got underway when champions Accrington had one of those now familiar come from behind wins against Bacup at Thorneyholme Road. Visiting professional Robin Jones followed last week's maiden century with another fine knock of 74 in Bacup's 204-6. Geoff Heaton hit 51, Peter Nicholson 25 and Roger Law 22 in the visitors imposing total. Solid batting by John Swanney (45), Geoff Hayhurst (39), Alan Worsick (24) and Alan Richardson (23) took Accrington to within 40 runs of victory but with only 4 overs left. John Beaumont took 5 wickets but his unbroken spell cost 113 runs as the champions won with 3 balls to go. Skipper Ian Birtwistle (34 not out) and Tony Gallagher (14 not out) were Accrington's heroes in an amazing finish that saw the champions move into 3rd place on 38 points, 1 behind second placed Burnley after a 3 wicket win.


If you have any memories of 1976 please email Nigel Stockley