Accrington Cricket Club

Todmorden 181-6, Accrington 180-2 dec
31st May 1970

Accrington 1970
Accrington 1st XI 1970

Accrington suffered their second defeat of the season at Todmorden after a Bruce Francis century had enabled Eddie Robinson to set the home side 181 for victory. Francis hit nine fours in his unbeaten 102, adding 72 with Geoff Hayhurst (32), 28 with Russ Cuddihy (5) and an unbroken 89 with Lindon Dewhurst who hit a season's best unbeaten 32. Todmorden openers Garth Stansfield (11) and Keith Fielden (13) put on 23 before Ian Birtwistle picked up Stansfield. Robinson dismissed Fielden but professional Terry MacGill and Ken Hollows took the score to 114. Robinson had MacGill caught behind by Terry Neville for 65, which included nine fours and a six with Hollows falling to Alan Richardson for 38. Alan Worsick removed the dangerous Brian Whittaker (9) and Malcolm Jowett (14) but Peter Brownbridge (14 not out) and Ian Smith (7 not out) saw the home side to victory in the 38th over. Scorecard

If you have any memories of 1970 please email Nigel Stockley